Cooper Law Firm
Quality, Affordable Legal Guidance
866-405-0124
Se habla Español

Understanding Maryland’s implied consent law

As you know, a conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol can destroy your life. After all, you need your driver’s license to go to work, buy groceries and otherwise get through every day. You also need your freedom. 

Maryland has an implied consent law. That is, when you received your driver’s license, you gave implied consent to submit to chemical testing to measure your blood alcohol content if an officer has reasonable suspicion to believe you are driving while impaired. Before you find yourself in the middle of a DWI stop, you should understand Maryland’s implied consent law. 

Maryland’s legal limit 

In the Old Line State, your blood does not have to be free of alcohol for you to legally operate a motor vehicle. Your BAC does, however, have to be below 0.08 percent. If a police officer suspects you are either driving or attempting to drive a motor vehicle, he or she may conduct a chemical test to determine if your BAC is above the legal limit. 

Chemical testing 

Pursuant to Maryland law, officers may test your breath, blood or urine to determine your BAC. Officers may ask you to take a roadside breath test. This test, however, may not be the sort of testing that the implied consent law contemplates. Instead, it may only give officers probable cause to request chemical testing. Still, officers should conduct chemical testing as soon as possible when you were either driving or attempting to drive. 

Refusal 

Even though you gave implied consent to submit to chemical testing, you may choose to refuse the test. As you may suspect, though, a refusal has consequences. In fact, refusing a chemical test in Maryland comes with a 270-day suspension of your driving privileges. To overcome the suspension, you must request a hearing within 10 days. Then, you must convince a hearing officer that he or she should allow you to continue to drive. You also may need to install an ignition interlock system on your vehicle. 

The best way to avoid a DWI is never to drive or attempt to drive after you have been drinking alcohol. Still, it is a good idea to fully understand Maryland’s implied consent law.

 

 

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Contact Cooper Law Firm Today A Diverse Professional Legal Team, Always Accessible to You. Call 866-405-0124.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Email Us For A Response
  • Maryland Association for Justice
  • Bar Association of Montgomery County, MD
  • PGCBA | Prince George's County Bar Association | Over a century of service
  • MSBA | Maryland State Bar Association, Inc.
  • DCBAR
contact-map

office location

Cooper Law Firm
8720 Georgia Avenue, Suite 701
Silver Spring, MD 20910

Toll Free: 866-405-0124
Phone: 301-587-9170
Fax: 301-589-1585
Silver Spring Law Office Map