Cooper Law Firm
Quality, Affordable Legal Guidance
866-405-0124
Se habla Español

Know the facts about Maryland's DUI penalties

Every state in the country has been working hard to decrease the number of drunk drivers on their roads, but they all take just a little bit of a different approach. Before you visit Maryland, or before you get your first license in the state if you are a new driver, you should make sure you understand the particular nuances of the DUI statutes here so that you can make sure you steer clear of trouble while you are on the road.

First offense DUI

The following penalties can be assessed for a first offense DUI charge if you are convicted:

· Up to $1,000 fine

· Up to one year in jail

· 12 points added to your license

· Suspended license-up to six months

In addition to that, Maryland also has a DWI statute, which has penalties that include:

· Up to $500 fine

· 8 points added to your license

· Suspended license-up to six months

It is also possible that you will be asked to complete an alcohol abuse recovery program as part of the process.

Subsequent DUI Offenses

The penalties escalate with each subsequent DUI conviction, so the second time out the penalties can go up to $2,000. Two years of prison time is also possible, and if you have two convictions within five years, there is a mandatory license suspension period and an ignition interlock program that you will be expected to participate in to earn your license back.

If you are arrested for DUI in Maryland

The best thing you can do if you are arrested for DUI is to ask to see a lawyer. That is because while the penalties for DUI can be steep, there is a lot of discretion in the sentencing. A good DUI lawyer will be able to help you understand your options and choose a path that resolves the situatio n to your benefit.

Sometimes, that will mean helping you to find the right DUI defense, like in cases where there was a problem with the breath test's accuracy. They can also tell you when a deal is the best option, and which deal is likely to be the best one you can count on.

No matter what kind of help you need when you face DUI charges, an experienced drunk driving lawyer will know how to advise you so that you are able to navigate the legal system in this state with the best possible defense. If you have been charged, do not wait. Get help as quickly as you can.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Contact Cooper Law Firm Today A Diverse Professional Legal Team, Always Accessible to You. Call 866-405-0124.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Email Us For A Response
  • Maryland Association for Justice
  • Bar Association of Montgomery County, MD
  • PGCBA | Prince George's County Bar Association | Over a century of service
  • MSBA | Maryland State Bar Association, Inc.
  • DCBAR
contact-map

office location

Cooper Law Firm
8720 Georgia Avenue, Suite 701
Silver Spring, MD 20910

Toll Free: 866-405-0124
Phone: 301-587-9170
Fax: 301-589-1585
Silver Spring Law Office Map