DUI/DWI Penalties

A DUI or DWI conviction can land you in jail and/or cause you to lose your Maryland driver's license. If you are a repeat offender, with one or more prior DUI convictions, the risks increase substantially.

At the law office of Cooper Law Firm, we defend people facing their first DUI charge, or their second, third or fourth DUI. We zealously challenge the validity of your arrest, the process and procedures followed by the police in performing the field sobriety and alcohol breath test, and other evidence against you. We work to obtain the best possible outcome in your favor while fighting any license suspension at an MVA hearing.

To schedule a free consultation with one of our experienced DUI defense attorneys, contact our Silver Spring law office online or call 866-405-0124.

Possible Penalties for a Drunk Driving Charge

Our first goal is always to have the charges against you dropped. To lessen the likelihood of a conviction, we will advise you about programs and strategies you can take before your court date. If a conviction is imminent, we will negotiate with the state's attorney assigned to your case to allow you to plead guilty to a lesser charge and have any remaining charges dismissed.

  • First-Offense DUI: Up to $1,000 fine and/or 1 year in jail
  • Second-Offense DUI: Up to $2,000 fine and/or 2 years in jail, 12 points on your driving record, and mandatory completion of an intervention program for substance abusers

  • Third-Offense DUI or More: Up to $3,000 fine and/or 3 years in jail (with a mandatory minimum jail sentence of at least 10 days), and mandatory completion of an intervention program for substance abusers
  • First-Offense DWI: Up to $500 fine and/or 60 days in jail, and an alcohol abuse assessment and treatment program may be ordered
  • Second-Offense DWI: Up to $500 fine and/or 1 year in jail, 1 year minimum suspension of your driver's license, and a mandatory alcohol abuse assessment and treatment program

  • Third-Offense DWI or More: Up to $500 fine and/or 1 year in jail, with possible additional jail time, 5-year suspension of your driver's license, and participation in a 28-day residential treatment program

  • Underage DUI/DWI: Maryland is a "zero tolerance" state, thus any level of alcohol found in an underage driver subjects them to up to a $1,000 fine and 90-day license suspension. Any additional traffic offenses will result in a license revocation
  • Commercial Driver's License DUI/DWI: Same fine and jail time as regular class license; however, you face a lifetime loss of your CDL on a second conviction.

Out-of-State Drivers: We can help you navigate the confusing legal process of being charged with a DUI/DWI, especially if you have an out-of-state license, and can explain how a charge or conviction could affect your driving privileges in Maryland and in the state in which you reside.

Get the Strong Defense You Need

Our attorneys have one goal: to minimize the impact a DUI/DWI has on your life. We will explain your rights and options to you, then build a strong defense. To get started, call 866-405-0124 or contact us online.

Spanish is spoken in our office, and translation services are available for all languages, upon request.